05 November 2018

Medical Educators receive RACGP honorary awards


RACGP award winners announced at GP18

The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) presented the winners of the 2018 RACGP awards at the GP18 National Academic Fellowship and Awards Ceremony.

A big congratulations to NTGPE Medical Educator, Dr Kishan Pandithage for being awarded 2018 RACGP Standing Strong Together Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Award.

‘To me, this award is a confirmation of the privilege I have had in contributing to the education of Indigenous students and doctors for more than a decade now,’ says Dr Pandithage. ‘Over this time they have become family to me and it has been a great pleasure to watch them grow.’

Read more on Kishan's award here.

Our warmest congratulations also to former NTGPE Director of Training, Dr Graham Emblen and former NTGPE Medical Educator, Dr Simon Morgan on being honoured with the RACGP Corlis Award.

‘I gain great pleasure in seeing others learn,’ Dr Emblen said. ‘When you see the light go on for a registrar, a supervisor or a medical educator, and when you see that light trigger a change in behaviour that results in a patient getting better care, that makes everything worthwhile.’

‘It is a great honour to be recognised by my peers as making a meaningful contribution to medical education,’ Dr Morgan said. We have such a precious opportunity to inspire and teach and support registrars in the very brief window of time during which they train.'

Read more on the Corlis award winners here.